Built in the mid-1920’s, the Whalehead continues to stand as one of the most spectacular landmarks on the Currituck Outer Banks. Owners, Edward Collings and Marie Louise Knight traveled to Corolla from points north and used Corolla Island as their winter residence from 1925-34. Boasting art nouveau architectural styling and accented with Tiffany lamps, cork-tiled floors, brass duck head and water lily hardware, this magnificent structure stood isolated for years on these remote barrier islands and has been fully restored.
The Whalehead is the site of many festivals and events held in the Currituck Outer Banks.
Currituck Outer Banks: Historic Corolla Park
1100 Club Road, Corolla NC 27927